Site of Future Expansion

Classroom Building

Gymnasium

Dormitory

E. Brown, Principal

Meet Our Teachers

Tina Alba

1st Grade

Tina Alba

1st Grade

Tina Alba

1st Grade

Grace Squires

4th Grade

Robert Sanders

6th Grade

GPLHS Statistics

 

  • Student enrollment = 125

  • Student/teacher ratio = 9:1

  • Instructors with advanced degrees = 35%

  • International student population = 5%

  • 1:1 chromebook mobile devices

  • Average class size = 15

  • GPL graduates enrolled in postsecondary education = 94%

  • Students involved in co-curricular activities = 97%

  • Average ACT score = 24 (ACT 5-year average composite score)

Location: Great Plains Lutheran High School is located in eastern South Dakota.  The city of Watertown has a population of 22,000.  Watertown is 100 miles north of Sioux Falls, South Dakota (population 150,000), 150 miles south of Fargo, North Dakota (population 150,000), and 200 miles west of Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota (population 2.7 million).

Welcome from Mr. Bauer

M. Bauer, Principal

Great Plains Lutheran High School is focused on preparing students for lives of service to their communities and their Lord. In order to accomplish this, we provide a program of quality academics preparing students to enter college, tech school, or the workforce. Students learn in a safe, family-like environment in which teachers and students truly care for each other and demonstrate a high level of respect for one another.

Meet Our Teachers

GPLHS Faculty

2020 - 2021

gplhs@gplhs.org

00115.jpg
Rebecca Doering

Consumer Math, 

Geometry

rdoering@gplhs.org

00116.jpg
Linda Guthmiller

Pre-Algebra, Art, FACS, ESL

lguthmiller@gplhs.org

00119.jpg
Gene Jaeger

Asst. AD, Algebra 1&2,    Pre-Calculus, AP Calculus

gjaeger@gplhs.org

00139.jpg
Jayne Jaeger

English 11,

Psychology, H.S. 101

jjaeger@gplhs.org

00121.jpg
Sam Kleinke

Chemistry, Earth Science, Biology

skleinke@gplhs.org

00124.jpg
Eric Martens

Intro to Business, Music Accounting, Choir, Band

emartens@gplhs.org

00128.jpg
Carina Rahn

Spanish 1-2,

Advanced Spanish

crahn@gplhs.org

00151.jpg
Ryan Rosenthal

Eng. 9, Health, Phys. Sci., Tech. Coordinator

rrosenthal@gplhs.org

00152.jpg
Aaron Schleusener

Phy. Ed., U.S. History,

Government

aschleusener@gplhs.org

00154.jpg
Anna Swanson

English 10 & 12,

ESL

aswanson@gplhs.org

Male placeholder.jpeg
Michael Starr

World Geography, Religion 10

sro@gplhs.org

Meet Our Administration and Staff

00119.jpg
Matt Bauer

Principal

Personal Finance

mbauer@gplhs.org

00136.jpg
Rev. Tony Hansen

Dean of Students

Religion 9 &12

thansen@gplhs.org

00124.jpg
Mike Haugly

AD, World History, Religion 11, Strength & Fitness

mhaugly@gplhs.org

Male placeholder.jpeg
Jeff Roloff

Director of Mission

Advancement

jroloff@gplhs.org

Maertz 2014.JPG
Rev. David Maertz

President

dmaertz@gplhs.org

20210105_122648.jpg
Kathleen Hesford

Business Manager

khesford@gplhs.org

00127.jpg
Carla Klug

Housing Supervisor

cklug@gplhs.org

00145.jpg
Sherri Meseberg

Noon Lunch Cook

smeseberg@gplhs.org

00146.jpg
Karen Miller

Administrative Assistant

gplhs@gplhs.org

placeholder photo.jpg
Sarah Roloff

Mission Advancement

Assistant

sroloff@gplhs.org